I’ll be sure to update this some more when I get my power back, but for now, this is all I got:

I have to hand it to Mama Nature up there. She really lived up to all the hype and then some. I’m not saying that she reads my blog or anything, but I think she read my blog and decided to fufill my hopes of riding out a real hurricane. Just as expected, it was pretty exciting.

For the first few hours, there wasn’t anything but some wind. Eventually, the rain started to pick up as well, and that’s when the real action started. At first I thought the sharp cracking noises was thunder, but later I found out it wasn’t; it was actually the sound of whole branches being blown off of the tree. It was cool to hear transformers exploding too. I didn’t think that I would lose power, but damn was I wrong. When I woke up the next morning I was going to go play a nice game of Rock Band when I realized, “Hey, why isn’t my alarm clock on?” Much to my horror, it was because there was no electricity. None. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Zero. You get the drift. Suffice it to say that I was devastated.

What’s even more amazing than the actual storm, was the after math of the storm. When I walked out, it was awesome to see all the wreckage outside; I even saw a tree on someone’s house! Though, more than that, was how everyone banded together after the fact. On a lot of the streets I visited, people were setting up grills and chairs and having a block party of sorts. People who normally had nothing to do with each other were coming together as if they had been together their whole lives. It’s great to see that people can still act human, even if it is in the wake of a disaster.

My heart really goes out to the people of Galveston. The devastation over there is enormous. So much so that the mayor has even deemed it “uninhabitable.” According to the latest issue of the Houston Chronicle, people are being taken out of Galveston as the living conditions continue to plummet. Hopefully, one day, I can visit there again, but I don’t think it’ll ever be the same.

You win, Mama. You win.

