Portal is possibly one of the best Valve games that I’ve ever played. In fact, it may be one of the best puzzle games I’ve ever played, period. I’m not sure what made me love it so much. Maybe it was the taunting voice of GlaDOS, or maybe it was the Companion Cube. Oh wait, I remember. It was the portal gun. Seriously, what could be better than a gun that makes portals on virtually any surface? Nothing, that’s what. I remember for weeks after I played the game I imagined myself with the gun, thinking of all the awesome uses for it. To this day, I would give anything to have a real one. Anything.

The first Portal game had a nice little ending, but it was so short. Too short, I think. On the other hand, I think if it was any longer, it would have gotten a bit stale. It doesn’t look like Valve will be making a sequel anytime soon, so it’s in the hands of the community to take care of that. A lot of people already made community maps and stuff, but no one has made a real game. Until now.

Portal: Prelude has been really under the radar. In fact, I only found it through StumbleUpon. As the name states, the game is a prequel to Portal. It is set before GlaDOS was created and the staff at Aperture Science are the ones who takes care of all the tests. From the screenshots on the website, the game is looking great; it looks like it was made by Valve. At the moment, there is no release date, but I hope it’s soon.

By the way, I’ve heard through the grape-vine that Valve has accidentally confirmed that they are making a prequel too. Mind you, I’m not sure if this is credible or not. If someone could find out, that would be appreciated.

