I have to admit: after watching Burn After Reading, I really have no idea what happened. Now, don’t get me wrong, there is a story, but a loose one at best. If you’re going to see this movie, don’t expect a deep, thought-provoking plot. At best, this movie is a quick laugh to be watched when you’re bored.

Burn After Reading focuses mainly on the lives of 4 or 5 main characters. All these characters get wrapped into the same mess of a situation. The driving force behind this whole movie is the discovery of confidential data at Hardbodies, the gym that Chad (played by Brad Pitt) and Lynda Litsky works at. Somehow Henry, played by George Clooney, gets wrapped up in there too. I’m not really sure how. Suffice it to say, this movie wasn’t that memorable save a few great lines.

Anyway, Lynda Litsky needs a series of cosmetic surgeries to “recreate” herself, which is her motivation for “playing ball” with the government. With the help of Chad, she tries to blackmail Osbourne Cox, the owner of aforementioned data, for money. To say the least, Osbourne is not amused.

The events that unfold because of this throughout the movie can be best described as a clusterfuck. I don’t really know what to say about them except that they seem completely random. Don’t get me wrong though, it is this shotgun formation style of execution that makes this movie funny. It’s the sheer ridiculousness of the events that will make you laugh. Speaking of execution, it could have been better. At points I was kind of confused with what was happening, but it wasn’t hard to get back on track.

Brad Pitt did a great job with his character, Chad. I think he pulled off the silly and mildly retarded gym trainer that he was supposed to be perfectly. There were a lot of times that I found myself laughing out loud when he was at center stage. Chad is one of the few characters that I truly enjoyed watching. In other words, he was one of the few characters with any real flavor. My only complaint is that he didn’t have a bigger role.

I hate to say this, but I didn’t like George Clooney in this movie. He is one of my favorite actors, but I didn’t like his character, Henry. I never really got an idea of why he was in this movie. In the end, I had to conclude that he was just to add to the craziness. His character wasn’t particularly funny, nor was he particularly dynamic. I’m drawing a blank here. Regarding Clooney’s performance, it was excellent as usual. I didn’t expect anything less of him. Nothing much to report there.

The rest of the cast were a bunch of actors I didn’t really recognize. I found the character Lynda Litsky really annoying at times. The only reason I really remember Osbourne is his constant use of the word “fuck” and his shot against Mormons in the beginning. The two government agents that summed up the events of the movie at different points were fun to watch and even elicited a few laughs from me every now and then.

All in all, this movie left me unsatisfied in the end. It did wrap up nicely, leaving no questions, but I felt like it was missing something. If you’re looking for a few laughs and a casual watch with some friends then this is the movie for you. Though, I doubt that this is worth the $10 to watch it. If anything, wait for the DVD release and rent it.

